Since 2017 the participation councils and the study programme committees are the legally settled formal participation bodies.

The rules regarding the participation councils are established in the Participation Regulations. The University of the Arts The Hague (HdK) has two faculty councils of representatives, one for the Royal Academy of Art (Academy Council) and one for the Royal Conservatoire (Conservatoire Council). The councils comprise representatives of staff and students. From both faculty councils the University Council is elected, which includes the chairs of the Academy Council and Conservatoire Council, supplemented by the chairperson of the School for Young Talent's participation council.

The regulations serve as a framework for communications between the Executive Board and the CMR and between the faculty directors and the faculty councils.

Participation Regulations

Bye-laws participation

Academy Council (Frederik Klanberg, external secretary)

Steef Eman, TS
Hilde Barwegen, NTS
Co Knol, NTS
Dominic Hughes, student
Kes Lugt, student
Helena Roig Prats, student
Malcolm Wamunza (chair), student

Conservatoire Council

Renee Jonker (chair), TS
Anka Koziel, TS
Dominy Clements, NTS
Elisha Peerwijk, NTS
Sara de los Campos, student
Arion Andree Djaoen (vice-chair), student
Alba Garcia Rivera, student
Mar Pino Charlez (secretary), student

University Council

Steef Eman (vice-chair), KABK (TS)
Hilde Barwegen, KABK (NTS)
Anka Koziel (chair), KC (TS)
Dominy Clements (secretary), KC (NTS)
Kolja Meeuwsen, School for Young Talent (TS)
Dominic Hughes, student KABK
Malcolm Wamunza, student KABK
Sara de los Campos, student KC
Alba Garcia Rivera, student KC

TS = teaching staff
NTS = non-teaching staff

The committee’s remit is to advise on the promotion and safeguarding of the quality of the programme. The Act states that the study programme committee has the following tasks:

  • to issue advice on the Education and Examination Regulations and to consent to the parts of the Education and Examination Regulations regarding which the faculty council has no right to consent, before the faculty director finalizes the regulations;
  • to make an annual assessment of the application of the Education and Examination Regulations;
  • to provide solicited and unsolicited advice about all other matters pertaining to the education.

Statutes of the study programme committees

Study Programme Committee KABK
Lisa Walcott, secretary

Roosmarijn Hompe (chair), teacher BA Interior Architecture & Furniture Design
Daniela Rosca, teacher BA Photography
Rana Ghavami, teacher MA Industrial Design
Görkem Yalim, teacher MA Artistic Research
Hannah Mulqueen, teacher BA Interactive/Media/Design
Kitman Yeung, student BA Fine Art
Wouter van Wessel, student BA Photography
Christian Kennecke, student BA Interior Architecture & Furniture Design
Ella Oudhof, student BA Interactive/Media/Design
Alina Lupu, student MA Photography & Society
Akash Kumar, student MA Industrial Design

Meetings 2022-2023
Location: Gipsenzaal

-Mon. 12 September 2022, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 17 October 2022, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 21 November 2022, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 19 December 2022, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 30 January 2023, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 13 March 2023, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 17 April 2023, 15:00-17:00
-Mon. 15 May 2023, 15:00-17:00
-Thu. 1 June 2023, 9:00-12:00 (with Academy Council)
-Mon. 19 June 2023, 15:00-17:00

Study Programme Committee KC
Mirjam van den Broek, secretary

Sander van Dorst, student (chair)
Iris Fetter, student
Eva van Ingen, student
Justin Bennett, teacher
Felix Schlarmann, teacher
Julia Stegeman, teacher